In an explanatory mode lately, so let’s just go with it. 🙂 This one comes of pondering the weird dual state of my life-I am both highly dependent in some capacities and fiercely independent in others…

Hard to not feel like a little wisp of a leaf, in a state of utter dependence,

Blown along in the breeze,

Looking to the shelter to close me in from the storm,

Lest I crumble underfoot.

And I sometimes wonder if I could ever function completely independent of the safety nets…

Other times, I feel like an aged tree,

Branches dense and wide and tired,

Bowing under the enormous weight

Of all the things I ever have to think of or protect beneath my boughs.

Exposed to the winds and the rain,

Mercilessly beat upon…

Yet, here I stand,

Strong and defiant in the face of living…

So much depends upon the day as to which holds most true in my eyes.

So much depends on whether I behold what others see or look into the mirror on my own…

Maybe it’s in recognizing how strong a wisp can be, 

Or how much a mighty tree still needs…

