Autistic Pride. Such a beautiful and sorely needed concept. Makes my heart soar to think of it.๐Ÿ’Ÿ๐Ÿ’Ÿ๐Ÿ’Ÿ

My dear friend, Laina, over at one of the bestest online hangouts, The Silent Wave-https://thesilentwaveblog.wordpress.com/ – has created a Blogger Award! 

( incredibly creative as she is. ๐Ÿ˜˜)

 The Autistic Pride Award! Yeah!!!

The following are her rules, which are so amazingly non-burdensome I have to clap my hands and grin with glee.๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜ธ :

Very relaxed and informal, of course.  Thereโ€™s no pressure.  No having to think up people to tag and invite.  

The rules are really simpleโ€ฆ

  1. Whoever wants to participate, participate.  Iโ€™m focusing primarily on Aspergerโ€™s/autistic people, of course, but anyone who supports autistic people and neurodiversity is welcome!
  2. Do link back to the blogger who gave you the idea 
  3. Do link back to this blog as the original creator.
  4. Describe a bit about yourself.  However much you feel comfortable saying.
  5. List your main โ€œspecial interestsโ€ or areas of primary focus/niche specialties.
  6. If youโ€™re on the spectrum yourself, describe why youโ€™re proud to be Aspergian/autistic or what you like about being Aspergian/autistic.  
  7. If youโ€™re not on the spectrum yourself, you can use this opportunity to describe a loved one in your life who is and what makes them awesome, or you can explain what autism means to you and why you think the world would be a better place if it were to be more embracing of autism.
  8. (Of course, you can answer more than one!  For example, someone who is autistic can also describe how much better the world would be if it was more open toward autism.)
  9. If you like, you can list other blogs or resources that are autism/neurodiversity-positive, to give them a shout-out, too.

Thatโ€™s it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Okey-dokey, then..

I have a fair amount of interests, so I will try to reign myself in, but I love opportunities to actually get to share the things which light me inside:

poetry/writing ( duh)

history ( esp. Civil War, Victorian, Roaring 20’s and WW2)

art ( everything from abstract patterns to more realistic portraits)

baking ( sometimes for others, but mostly for the process and experimentation.)

Vintage items, especially 40’s-60’s ads, magazines, knick-knacks, clothing, furniture, and just plain oddities

Classic film and TV

Big Band and Jazz

50’s-80’s rock, folk, soul

Reading and research ( almost anything but especially about autism, history,  origins, psychology,  vintage, and favorite film, actors, and music.)

Language, Word games, and Word origin

Christianity and Church history

Butterflies

Working with children, especially through creative expression 

Ok…that is a sizable list, some more “mainstream” than others. But, I find the level I love these things on-while soothing for me-are often looked askance on by others, especially “peers”. 

My husband and two of my four kids are also a part of the spectrum, (though I am beginning to highly suspect my middle boy is a missed Aspie, too, based on recent struggles.) each with their own list of special interests. I think they could each express a similar thought about how they are received by others.  

If I could say one thing for all of us, it would be as my last poetry post stated:

Let me be me. Or, rather, let us be us.

Our world would be infinitely easier and more joyful for it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Because, honestly I love who I am. They love who they are. Being taught to feel otherwise-purposefully or incidentally- is not only cruel but detrimental.

Let us have our enthusiasm! The enthusiasm we roll in for the things that we are drawn to is on such a level that I cannot fully describe it.

It allows us to hone in and dismiss the extraneous. It has and can prove useful, but, beyond that, it makes us happy! 

If only others could see this and let us be us…

